Committee Study of the Central Intelligence Agency’s Detention and Interrogation Program

I have been reading many articles that cover the release of the CIA’S Interrogation Program report. I would like to read the full report myself but it is over 500 pages so for now I am reading a variety of articles about it.

Before the report was even released I was seeing this picture float around on Face Book:

10858587_10152808904142221_6747368957589765944_n

The site of this picture makes me sick for so many reasons. My friends were posting it, my family members were posting it and I couldn’t help but feel disappointed. This picture represents so much evil that I can hardly wrap my brain around it. This picture disgusts me. It disgusts me that this picture of this man jumping to his death on 9/11 is being used as an excuse to torture other people. This man that was killed on 9/11 is being used as the “reason” people don’t care that others are tortured. This evil, horrendous, unfathomable act is perpetuating so much more hate and it makes me sad.

I fully understand the horror of 9/11, I really, truly do. I am from NYC and know so many people that were affected by 9/11 and I was affected by 9/11 more than I could have thought. I am not under any circumstance saying that this was OK but I have to say that I do not think torturing other people is the answer.

I became more and more sick as I was reading the coverage of the CIA report. “…detainee Abu Zubaydah became “completely unresponsive with bubbles rising through his open full mouth.” Khalid Sheikh Mohammed was waterboarded at least 183 times, which the Senate report describes as escalating into a “series of near drownings.””, The facility was so dark in some places that guard had to wear head lamps, while other rooms were flooded with bright lights and white noise to disorient detainees.”

These are acts I could not even imagine. As I read my stomach became weak and I was tearing up. It is so upsetting to know that people that could make 9/11 happen exist. It was also upsetting to know that people are being tortured in secret, and committing acts that are against the law. This is terrifying to me. It is worse than horror movies. I just can’t fathom it. How do we live in a world where such evil exists. Evil beyond comprehension.

Reading these horror stories makes me want to vomit. It makes me want to move to another planet and then I see this picture being shared and it has thousands and thousands of likes. Thousands upon thousands of people not only condoning the unthinkable torture but applauding it. My heart grows heavy. There is so much hate in this world. I just think that there must be a better way. How is this the way? Not only is it illegal but it is inhumane. It is evil. That things like this go on in the world absolutely terrifies me.

Read the report and coverage of the report here:

Committee Study of the Central Intelligence Agency’s Detention and Interrogation Program: http://www.intelligence.senate.gov/study2014/sscistudy1.pdf

The CIA torture report, summed up in four brutal sentences

The huge new Senate report on CIA torture, explained

The Most Gruesome Moments in the CIA ‘Torture Report’

Justice probing CIA in deaths of 2 detainees

Leave a Reply

